Charleston DUI Lawyer News for 02-11-2018

Can I Get a DUI From Prescription Drugs? | Charleston Criminal Defense Attorneys

Charleston SC

If I’m arrested for DUI, will my license be suspended?If you are arrested for DUI, your privilege to drive may be suspended only if you refuse to take the breath test, or blow a 0.15 or higher on the breath test. If my license is suspended for a DUI arrest, can I get a temporary driving privilege?Anyone charged with DUI, who also suffers an administrative license suspension is eligible for a Temporary Alcohol Restricted License if you request an administrative hearing within 30 days of the arrest. If such a hearing is not requested, you may still be eligible for a Route Restricted Driver’s License if it is your first offense and you have enrolled in ADSAP. Will my DUI arrest show up on a background check?If you were arrested for DUI, an arrest record was created for that charge when you were booked into the detention center. In the event you have multiple DUI’s within a 10 year period, and the officer still charged you with DUI 1st offense, there is a chance the charge is enhanced to the appropriate level based on prior convictions. In these cases, it is important to consult with a DUI lawyer as most prescription medications so not “Impair” you as defined in the DUI law. How long does it usually take to get a DUI charge resolved?It generally takes around 6 months for a DUI charge to be resolved. If I have a prior DUI from another state, can that be used against me in the prosecution of my SC DUI?If the prior DUI conviction was within the last 10 years, it can be used to enhance a new DUI charge to a 2nd or subsequent offense regardless of what state your prior conviction occurred in. If I have an out of state driver’s license, will a SC DUI suspend my license?For out of state drivers, it is your privilege to drive in SC that is suspended. You may still be arrested for DUI in a parked car if there is other evidence that you were recently driving. How can I beat a DUI case when the arresting officer believes I was drunk?In SC, DUI law requires the arresting officer to video record the entire investigation.

Keywords: [“DUI”,”arrest”,”drive”]

What Happens After a DUI Arrest in South Carolina?

Being arrested for DUI in South Carolina can be an intimidating experience leaving you with a lot of uncertainty about what happens next. If you refused the test, your license is suspended for 6 months, and you will have to enroll in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program. Importantly, while you wait on the hearing, you will be able to obtain a Temporary Alcohol License and drive. Remember, you can’t obtain your Temporary Alcohol License until the DMV has notice that your hearing is requested, and this normally takes 2 – 7 days, so every day that you wait is a day that you may have a suspended license unnecessarily. In the meantime, don’t drive on a suspended license. We can’t stress enough that there is too much to lose if you are caught driving on a suspended license, and it will lower the chances of a favorable resolution to your DUI charge. Call a cab, catch a ride, but wait until you get your Temporary Alcohol License before you get behind the wheel. If your license is suspended, as described above, you may need to bring two people with you to get your car: one to drive you all there, a second person to drive your car home, and yourself obviously. Preparing for the first court date, getting you a license to drive, and obtaining permission to leave the state, are three time-sensitive matters. We can help you get your Temporary Alcohol License, explain to you what your rights are, and explain what costs and issues you might have ahead. There is no reason to wait, but there are lots of reasons not to, so contact us today and schedule an appointment for a free consultation.

Keywords: [“license”,”court”,”date”]

Dashcam video released of SC state senator’s DUI arrest

The Highway Patrol has released the dash-cam video showing what happened at the scene where state Senator Paul Campbell was arrested for driving under the influence. In the video, you can hear what Campbell says happened. Stories on who was driving Campbell’s car differ. After a failed sobriety test, when Campbell doesn’t perform a heel-to-toe, straight-line walk by the trooper’s standards, he’s cuffed and escorted into the patrol car. Campbell: “I’m sorry to put you through this.”Trooper: “This is my job. No need to apologize.”Campbell: “Well, the lady was just wrong. Vicki jumped out of the car, and I jumped out and said ‘get back in the car.'”. While in the car, Campbell insisted to the trooper he thought he may be at a.03 or.04 blood-alcohol level, because he’d been at a Clemson football party downtown. The dashcam footage of a South Carolina state senator’s arrest on a DUI charge over the weekend has been released by the South Carolina Highway Patrol. The video shows vehicles pulled over after the crash when troopers say Paul Campbell rear-ended a woman in her jeep on I-26. Troopers believe he was the driver, too – you can see in the video, Campbell’s sobriety test. According to troopers, once breathalyzed, Campbell registered a.09 blood-alcohol level.

Keywords: [“Campbell”,”Trooper”,”drive”]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *